PDA

View Full Version : Speed-developing

paularve
02-28-2003, 10:00 PM
Hi,
I'm working on my picking speed for the moment. I'm doing major scales with a metronome, and I'm practicing them on five different "boxes" on the fretboard. I do this five minutes on 80 bpm in eights and 16ths, then five minutes with 85, then 90, 95 and finally 100 bpm. I've done this almost every day in one month, but I'm still to slow to hang on at 100 without tensing my shoulders. Am I doing something wrong here? How long time will it take before I master 100, 120, 150, 200 bpm?

PS: I've been doing chords for about ten years, and only worked on technique for about 6-7 months. I'm 18 years old. Will I ever be as good as the virtuosos that started practicing everyday since they where 10-11 years old?

EricV
02-28-2003, 10:28 PM
Well, first of all, sometimes it takes a really long time ( way more than a month ) to reach actual high speeds ( I usually donīt like to talk in bpm, so I wonīt do so now neither :) )
Sometimes, you get kinda stuck and it seems as if you wonīt progress at all, then all of a sudden you break the barrier and reach a new level ( and maybe a new plateau ).
It takes time, patience, motivation and a bit of "pushing the boundaries" ( trying to increase of the metronome by like 20 beats above your top-level. You will most likely not be able to play at that new high tempo, but if you try, you might "break the barrier", and once you slow down the metronome again, you might discover that you can all of a sudden play it a bit faster than your old top-speed... example: you can play a lick at 100 bpm ( ok, now I am talking bpm, I know ), and you canīt progress. Speed up the metronome to like 115 or 120. Most likely thatīll be way too fast. But you try to play at that speed anyway. And maybe, if you now slow down again to like 104, it might work... you just broke a small barrier )