PDA

View Full Version : First Time

Tes21
03-27-2006, 02:48 PM
Hi All,

Thursday will be my first time practicing with a new band. This is not a gig, but just a practice. I am a former college football coach that is very organized in most situations and was looking for some help so I don't have to reinvent the wheel, so to speak. My question is what things do I need to make sure I bring to practice? I know that some of you have a checklist probably already made up and some might have a horror story or two of things that you forgot for a gig or practice. Any and all suggestions are appreciated.

Thanks,

Tes

EricV
03-27-2006, 03:12 PM
Did you decide on what songs to play already ? Or are you gonna write songs with them ?
If you are gonna cover songs, unless you know them completely by heart, Iīd recommend to write lead sheets ( chords, structure... ) and bring that.
Also, make sure you have all the gear components you need ( cables, batteries, pedals ), and put them into some container ( instead of i.e. placing everything in the back of the amp or something )
Bring some tools, or a replacement guitar. If you happen to break a string, you can just grab the other guitar. If you donīt have a replacement, or donīt wanna take it to the practice, make sure you have new strings with you, and the tools to replace the string.
Maybe bring ear protection. It depends on the architecture of the room and on the general volume of the band, but it can be exhausting to be right next to the drumset, with the crash cymbal on ear level, with your amp blasting at you from the opposite side.
Before you leave, go through your bags / case once more to see whether you have everything. Take your time for that. Donīt forget essentials like extra picks, your strap etc
Eric

forgottenking2
03-27-2006, 03:13 PM