PDA

View Full Version : Want to be a guitar teacher?

Solstice
06-02-2006, 06:50 PM
I have been studying for a few years now and am ready to take some beginner students. I don't know how to go about building a base of students to teach. Some of my questions are:

What is usually required for a store to hire someone to teach guitar?
What kind of pay and time requirements are involved in the profession?
How competitive is the profession?
Should I teach privately or at a music store?
Is it best to go to students or make them come to me?
What has worked well for you as a teacher?
What kind of equipment is needed?
Are there any specific methods or books I should read?
Thank you. Please fill this thread with as much knowledge as you can about anything and everything regarding teaching guitar. It will be a nice find for any future teachers looking for hints and tips too.

7StringShred
06-04-2006, 06:53 PM
I have been studying for a few years now and am ready to take some beginner students. I don't know how to go about building a base of students to teach. Some of my questions are:

Thank you. Please fill this thread with as much knowledge as you can about anything and everything regarding teaching guitar. It will be a nice find for any future teachers looking for hints and tips too.

Though I am in your current posistion and am wondering some of the many questions you asked, I can tell you as a former student to quite a few guitar players what some of the answers are.

1. Alot of stores will hire you on knowledge basis, that's why I've been soaking up as much theory as possible, not only just for myself, but for the sake of getting a job I will actually enjoy. Some stores will want to see a music degree showing how credible you are. While helpful, that doesn't mean all of those who have a degree with music *should* be teaching.