PDA

View Full Version : Tapping help!

Supernaut
06-17-2006, 04:36 PM
As you might be able to tell from my speed topic, I am a bit of a billy Sheehan fan too! So my next question is: how do you tap properly?

I've read a few methids on how, but it's so quiet! I can't any real sound out of it. Can anyone help?

Cheers!

Kinoble
06-18-2006, 04:51 PM
hi supernaut,

I use tapping fairly regurlaly and was in your position not so long ago. The key to tapping i find is having the finger strengt to hammer on the first notes of the tapping part. For example, if you are tapping an Amin triad, you have to really practise hammering on the first two notes A and the C to get the loudness for the tap on the E note to work. Im a guitarist but learnt this approach from a bassist, so it applies here.

You have to hammer on the fifth fret of the E string (for this example) with the first finger, keep the first finger on the fith fret and hammer onto the 8 fret with the last finger, and then tap the 12fret with whatever finger you like (depending on whether you play with a pick or fingers.)

The key is getting the strenght to hammer on from 'no-where'. Once you get it, yuo'll be fine.

Hope this helps,

Ben :cool:

Supernaut
06-18-2006, 04:57 PM
interesting way of doing it. I always do it as pressing downa nd pulling off the E note to create the A note, then use a free finger to hammer on C...like that heh

I'll have a go this method though! cheers!

Kinoble
06-18-2006, 05:33 PM
yea, its not a usual 'tapping' techmique, as its ascending up- in my example A to C to E. The other way is descneding like you mentioned. Again you have to really make sure you conenct with the fret, if we take the Amin traid and approach it 'top-down' (E to C to A) then you have to make sure you tap reasonably hard on the 12 fret so there is enough volume to pull-off on the C and A.

Supernaut
06-18-2006, 05:36 PM