PDA

View Full Version : next step for learning piano

jade_bodhi
11-07-2006, 04:24 PM
Hello:

Is there someone whose experience could guide me in how to learn piano.

Let me describe my ability as a player and the challenge I face at this point.

I have played guitar for many years, and I know enough theory to get by. Most of the theory I'm familiar with is chord-based. I don't read standard notation, but I can play with highly skilled musicians and we can communicate. I write songs and melodies. Since I don't read notation, I have to memorize the melodies, keeping them in my head. I can read tab but I don't use it to transcribe my melodies.

One year ago I started playing piano (happily neglecting my guitar and songwriting). On piano, I am becoming more proficient at playing root positions and some inversions of the most common chords: majors, minors, sixths, sevenths, ninths. I favor the blues because of the stable structure; I always know where I am.

I have learned to play the piano in a style that is not unlike the way I play guitar. With my left hand, I pick out bass lines, usually very simple single-note lines, and my right hand does the chording and inserts trills and short runs when I discover them (which is not often).

To train myself on piano, I use a book called Rise Up Singing, which provides chord progressions and lyrics to hundreds of American songs from Dylan to Broadway tunes. I pound out the chords and I sing the melodies.

My question is where should I go from here? Because I am learning by ear mostly, I am wondering if I should try a teacher who plays by ear in the boogie woogie style which would give me the blues structure I rely on and build on my left hand bass line playing.

Has anyone been in this situation? What would be the next successful step for me? I feel I may have gone as far as I can pounding out chords and bass lines. My playing skill has reached a plateau, but I want to get to a higher level. Thank you.

Ms. Jade Bodhi

joeyd929