PDA

View Full Version : Need to confirm so stuff about modes

akash47
04-11-2003, 10:03 AM
Hi,
I've been trying to understand modes and need to confirm some stuff....

Say i have a chord pattern and the E min pentatonic scale sounds fitting (this with the root on the 12th fret). I used to use this technique to solo earlier.

Then i learnt patterns to extend the scale. i.e Now i could use the blues box pattern + this new pattern i learnt with was also supp to be the Em pentatonic except it started on the 10th fret of the 6th string.
Is this second patternt i learnt one of the modes of the pentatonic scale?

ALSO,
If i have a progression in the key of D.
I know the pentatonic would be a safe bet,
but can i solo over it with a, say, D Mixolydian or a D Lydian etc.

Thanks,
Akash

WaterGuy
04-11-2003, 12:25 PM
I am by no means an expert, so anybody can feel free to correct me, and I won't be offended...

The way I think of modes is that they are the same notes as the major scale, but with a different starting point. So, the D mixolydian has all the same notes as G major, only instead of starting on G, you start on the fifth degree of the scale, D. So in general, playing the D mixolydian in a song in the key of D might not sound as good as say, the A mixolydian which shares all the same notes with D major. That, of course ignores anything you might want to be doing to go along with chord changes and such.

Personally, I've never really thought of the pentatonic scale as having modes, but if you're playing all the same notes in a different position, I suppose you could think of it that way.

Hope this helps, and welcome.

Danster
04-11-2003, 01:34 PM
Originally posted by akash47 Then i learnt patterns to extend the scale. i.e Now i could use the blues box pattern + this new pattern i learnt with was also supp to be the Em pentatonic except it started on the 10th fret of the 6th string.