PDA

View Full Version : audition, help needed

Padawan
03-26-2007, 03:12 PM
Ahoi crew members,

I want to apply at some music schools where you can mainly study jazz, in case the cool music schools don't let me in.

So part of the requirements are that I play two songs of different jazz styles.
I'm new to jazz but I once transcribed Djangos minor swing and I can play Brian Setzer's version of sleepwalk. Do you think that would be ok to play?

I also have to play a jazz ballad (I don't know any) and a notated piece/singlenote transcription, also in jazz style. (don't know what they mean)

Then there are schools where you have to play the piano, so I have to play 2 easy piano pieces at the audition, any recommendations? I heard chick corea has some cool easy songs.

Once the application is sent I will take lessons again to make sure the audition will be succesful.
Ah, one problem, I'm late as always and the application with the songs I want to play should be sent on WEDNESDAY and not later. :rolleyes: :eek:

Padawan
03-26-2007, 04:39 PM
Poparad helped me already, case closed :)

Padawan
03-27-2007, 05:14 PM
Oh, I still need 2 easy piano pieces, any idea?

ashc
03-27-2007, 07:53 PM
Any particular genre?

Padawan
03-27-2007, 08:22 PM
Hm...no, I think it can be anything. What would you suggest?

leppard81
03-27-2007, 08:41 PM
How about playing a blues? A walking bassline? That could be fun :-)

Padawan
03-27-2007, 09:07 PM
well, why not, I just need specific song titles where you can get notation for the piano. The problem is that I never played piano, so I better work my *** of for 2 month :D

ashc
03-28-2007, 08:26 AM
An easy, and atmospheric, classical piece would be Gnossiennes No .1 by Erik Satie (easier even than the Gymnopedies). Very simple left hand.

A second source of easy pieces would be the minuets from Bach's Anna Magdalena book. e.g. No.4 in G.

NB: with two months practice I wouldn't go any harder than this.