PDA

View Full Version : Copyrighting music

Sabby
06-03-2003, 10:02 AM
Ok, ive been playing in a band for about 6 months now (finally one that's comitted) and i think we have got some really cool stuff which we obviously want to get playing for others and getting it out there. I wonder if any of you fellas could help with some information regarding copyrighting your material.

Here's what ive heard here and there, although i most likely stand to be corrected so help me out here. Apparently as soon as the material is down on paper or recorded like on tape or something it's automatically copyrighted? Proving this is another matter though so another guy i spoke to said one of the best ways to do it is record some material on tape/cd/etc and then mail it to yourself and dont open it. Waddya think?

I really have little idea about the legalities of things like this so any links or information is much appreciated. Thx guys.

-Sabby

Sentinel
06-03-2003, 04:17 PM
I've read many times that mailing it to yourself won't stand up in court since envelopes can be steamed open and resealed. It doesn't cost much to copyright your music, something like $20 a song. Or you could copyright a bunch of songs together under the same copyright. I'm not sure of all the technical stuff about this, but you could check out books about this at the library. If your music is really worth it, spending a few dollars isn't a big deal.

The Bash
06-03-2003, 05:19 PM
http://www.loc.gov/copyright/

There's a link to the LBC

And yes you can copyright a collection under one form.
This is cheaper, however the one drawback is a publisher often dosen't want to search through a entire collection, plus everythings listed under the same code. If your gonna sell your stuff (write for others) it's easier (and cost more) to label each tune seperate.

The Bash
06-03-2003, 06:08 PM
I should add the same goes for recording your own music.
It's easier to track down the LBC number if it's listed seperatly.