PDA

View Full Version : anyone for modes?

leegordo
08-07-2008, 02:20 PM
Hi leegordo here , while following a post re' modes, where the bulk of the comments were generally in favour of Modal stuff, what amazed me most was the length some of our members have gone into the study and use of Modes.
What struck me most was the fact that these guys have superior brain power to my own--I have been an expert at chords and harmony tor over 70 yrs- but, if MY studies had been half as difficult as studying Modes and their uses, then I would have never learned about harmonies Or chords. these guys not only seem to know their Modes, but they also seem to have a good knowlege of Chords
I mean, What gets me puzzled is which came first, and why choose to study two entirely different genre's of music? However I still say that modern day harmony was evolved as a more simple and more comprehensive method of learning harmonies and chords than the more difficult and less comprehensive study of modes That's why modes became outmoded- pardon the pun!!
leegordo

Obivion
08-07-2008, 03:32 PM
First of all, I think you are confusing the counterpoint used in JS Bach's Fugues and other classical composition with modes.

The interest in modes began with the release of Miles Davis' "Kind of Blue" in 1959 in which he had grown tired of the chordal system and wished to approach music from a different direction, based on Russells system of 1953.

The idea is not that modes are a far more efficient system, or a substitution for knowing basic chordal theory, Miles probably knew more of that than most people around here. But it offered a different way of visualizing the relationship between the melody and the backing, and took the focus away from the ridiculously complex chords of 40s bebop and focused instead on the melody.