PDA

View Full Version : Keyboards and built in teaching functions

Timestorm
04-24-2009, 06:41 AM
A couple of months ago i decided to get a keyboard to help with learning music theory - (Yamaha PSR E413), and i've also been having a go on it's teaching function and so far i quite like it. However, id like to know if anyone else has tried learning from built in teaching functions and what they think of them. Good idea? Or do they just teach bad habits? Im still gonna learn standard notation etc but i'd just like to hear others experiences.

Malcolm
04-24-2009, 12:55 PM
As far as learning bad habits -- if you are self taught -- that kind of goes with the territory. Mine does not have a teaching function - or I have not found it, but, I see nothing wrong with using it.

Alfred's # 1 book and a fingering guide for you scales are the normal self taught route. Yes, you gotta do those scales to get your fingers doing what they should do. Plus it's a great way to get both hands working at the same time.

Flash cards cost $4 a pack. Scatter several packs around so when you have a few moments you can get some study in. When you can identify and say the name of the note in the same amount of time you can say your name you will be ready to start reading and finding the notes on your keyboard, i.e. playing songs.

After you work your way through Alfred's first book you will then know which way you want to take your music.
Classical by rote.
Pop by rote.
Lead sheet or fake chord (no bass clef) Melody with the right hand and chords with the left hand.
Chord accompaniment - just play chords and let your voice provide the melody, i.e. strum your keyboard.

Have fun.

Timestorm
04-27-2009, 09:18 PM