PDA

View Full Version : how do i reach my goals?

peter_traj
07-09-2002, 12:35 PM
i have been playing the guitar for about 7 months now and i am a little confused as to which path i should take and what i should be practising to achive my goals. let me be more specific. my goal is to be able to create my own music, where i play the progression and then solo/and sing over it. i dont want to form a band and play gigs. i just want to play for my own enjoyment. what i am lacking is the "tools of the trade" i like to call them. by this i mean i can do all the simple stuff like hammers and pull offs,bends and slides, but the more advanced stuff like wild runs up and down the neck, jumping backwards and forwards, all that tricky stuff that i see experieced guitarists do, i have yet to learn. and this is exactly what i want to learn so can fill up my "tool box". my guitar teacher said to me that every great guitarist started off by learning other peoples music before they could branch off and create there own. so his advice to me was before i should even think about creating my own stuff i should go out and learn hundreds of songs and solos from other guitarists,eg clapton,vai,satriani,etc; and then when i have this extensive repitiore i can use bits and peices of them and some of my own ideas i have learnt along the way to create my own stuff. i thought wow, that will take me years!! and i dont really want to learn someone elses solo, i want to create my own! and in the last 5 months all i have been doing is studing music theroy, practising chords , experimenting with scales ,modes etc,and improvising over the same backing track trying to to make my improvising better each time. i have not learnt a SINGLE song!! sorry, i can play the progression to house of the rising sun!!!but thats it. am i going the right direction to reach my goal or should i take my teachers advice??? is it really that important to learn a whole heap of someone elses music?