PDA

View Full Version : New Member Here & First question.

Tune2B
09-09-2003, 07:29 PM
Hi all,
From BC, Canada. 19 Years old. Im Brad. I started playing guitar 2 months ago. I was looking for sites that included free lessons & this site has it all. Great website. Great forum. I am hoping & guessing great people here too. Just thought I say hi to everybody.
I am sure there are lots of exprienced musicians in this forum so I thought I ask my first question.
Is it better to start with accoustic OR should I go with electric guitar ? ( I've heard accoustic is better for begginers @ first, I am not sure about that however.)
Oh yea.. you can find my practice recordings here:
http://www.tune2b.ca.tt
Any feeback on those will be great too :rolleyes:

Zatz
09-09-2003, 09:12 PM
Hi Brad!

Welcome to IBreatheMusic!

Is it better to start with accoustic OR should I go with electric guitar ? ( I've heard accoustic is better for begginers @ first, I am not sure about that however.)

Well, we've had the same discussion somewhere sometime on our forums. I don't remember what it ended with but my strong belief is that one should start with what he's going to play most of the time.

I don't see why acoustic may be better for a beginner. It just doesn't require so much equipment but technically isn't any tiny bit easier.

As to me acoustic and electric are relative but different instruments so IMHO you just have to choose your kind first. I listened to your "1st recording" and I can tell that you tend to play electric. The theme is good for bass groove and might be redone into some fine riff later. Great that you are not afraid to record your playing. Store the stuff you play as you proceed - you'll see it's worth it cos it's full of ideas even if you think it isn't at the moment.

Good luck,
Zatz.

Shaman_Santana
09-09-2003, 09:23 PM