PDA

View Full Version : body workout

roel
10-05-2003, 07:04 AM
Hello everyone!

How true is it that gym workouts affect an instrumentalist's dexterity, does it damage the hands?
Is it unadvisable for instrumentalists not to workout?
I wish to improve my body tone, but i fear a bit that my chops could fall apart. please help.

:confused:

Danster
10-05-2003, 11:17 AM
Nothing scientific in my answer here, but I've been hitting the weight room pretty hard for seven months, and I've made quite a bit of progress on the guitar during that time. I don't think there has been any effect on my finger dexterity. I am a little concerned sometimes because I do get sore wrists from working out occassionally, but I've never noticed wrist pain during guitar playing. I'm interested in hearing the opinions of others on this too!

Anubis
10-05-2003, 12:18 PM
Ask Zakk Wylde

or this guy :cool:

EricV
10-05-2003, 02:27 PM
Kane Roberts, right ?

Itīs a bummer... George Lynch used to have workout-tips on his site years ago... not anymore. I donīt know whether he contributes to it a lot these days
Eric

Cuno
10-05-2003, 02:51 PM
I've just come back from the gym :) I go regularly, about 2-3 times a week. Like Danster, i too have sore wrists from working out sometimes. But less so these days, since i try to do low impact excercises where available. Also, i don't pump my muscles, i go to the gym to feel good, to avoid pains from sitting at the office to much, etc, and to relieve stress. Those guys that go 'ok, i could do 50kg's yesterday, so i'll try 90 today' wear out their bodies. I stay away from that. Most gyms won't allow you to work out on your own unless you've done a session under the supervision of a personal trainer. The stuff they say makes sense, if you just follow that, you should be safe from harm.

Working out is good for everyone. It makes you more healthy, more optimistic, more creative...

Koala
10-05-2003, 04:11 PM