PDA

View Full Version : Practise your pacing!

Goof
01-07-2004, 07:05 PM
Hi everybody, I'm a newbie who wants to share a recent practice-expierence. Hopefefully I want annoy you all with "old" info. Please tell me if this is redundant.

During the last bandrehearsel I noticed difficulty in switching gears in speed while soloing. I hadn't been practising any technique for a couple of months and mainly focused on chords, songwriting and singing(badly). This threw me since soloing always seemed "easy". The next day while fondling my guitar I realised what my problem was. I never really practised changing pace while soloing. Quite strangely this never poses a problem playing rythm.

The practice solution I came up with is playing a simple scale, Amin pantatonic (but ofcourse any scale you like will do), against a metronome set at 100 bpm (any speed will do) playing 8thnotes, then change to playing triplets, back to 8thnotes, change to 16thnotes, to triplets etc. This exercise helps me switching pace and I get to feel what happens when you change pace. After only a week of doing this exercise I already feel more comfortable switching pace and come up with new ideas and moods.

Of course this exercise can be taken to whatever you can play at whatever speed you're able to so 32th, 64th sixtuple yourself mad!!!

Hopefully someone will experience the same, let me now if you do.

Guitaristic greets, share your wisdom,

Goof

EricV
01-07-2004, 07:26 PM
Hey there,

cool post, great suggestion. This is something John Petrucci is very good at IMO. It will keep you from getting stuck doing only 16ths or whatever.
If you combine this kinda exercise with some work on phrasing and stuff, youŽll definitely profit from it... cuz being able to change pace like that in combination with good phrasing and some imagination will definitely help to play some cool leads... stuff that wonŽt sound like boring exercises.
Eric

Koala
01-07-2004, 08:36 PM