PDA

View Full Version : Songs to concentrate on

Lowthorpe
01-08-2004, 06:51 PM
Hi all, I'd like some help with song learning :D
I've been playing about 5 months now and I'm looking for some solos and riffs to learn that would be a challenge for me, to better myself. All of the songs I know, are pretty simple riffs, simple solos, so I can't claim to knowing any great songs as of yet, I'd say the hardest song I could play so far, is Jimi Hendrix - The Wind Cries Mary (upto just before the solo starts).

I know a few things scale wise, as I've been working on improvisation for a couple of months, I know 3 positions of the minor/major pentatonic(s), and I haven't studied the theory behind this much yet so I don't know what I'm talking about here, but I know the G Ioninan, B Phrygian and D Mixolydian scales from my teacher (Not well enough to improvise, well enough to play reasonably fast up and down). As for rhythm, I know some simple power chord riffs from songs, or some bar chord sequences that I can play alright.

Any suggestions please? :cool: I'm a blues/rock guy myself but I'm not restricted, I love to try out new genres and bands styles so any suggestions welcome ;)

Thanks,
Nick

flathead
01-08-2004, 07:44 PM
Well I'm sure someone will give you better advice than me but why not just learn a song or solo that you really like?

But the first things I've learned was some AC/DC stuff. Back in Black, Highway to Hell, You shook me, all that classic stuff. The riffs may be pretty simple but they sure kick a$$. The solos are all pentatonic based stuff.

And the second things I learned was the old Metallica stuff. I didnt really learn the solos, (but Anubis says they're easy :D ) but the rhythms are sure awhole lot of fun to play. Fade to Black, One, Seek and Destroy, For whom the bell tolls, The four horseman, And justice for all....etc

And of course there is always Stevie Ray Vaughan who will give you a lifetime of pleasure. :)

hol0point
01-08-2004, 08:20 PM