PDA

View Full Version : Sight Reading

Will
08-30-2002, 02:01 AM
"arghhhh" i hear you all cry. No, just kidding :)

I'm a self taught guitarist who's been playing for 6 years and i'm now doing a degree at the ACM in Surrey, England. I have a lot of experience reading music as i used to play trumpet, but i haven't been reading music using the guitar very long, probably about a year and a half now.

Does anyone know any sites on the net that offer free sight reading material? or any certain peices that I should search for to have a go at?

szulc
08-30-2002, 05:29 AM
You could get Powertab scores and ignore the tab.
Searh the web for power tab or .ptb

Guni
08-30-2002, 09:27 AM
Hi guys,

I don't know of a free site that focuses on reading.

There's a great book by William Leavitt called Reading Studies for Guitar. It works itself up the neck and through every position. This is a great way to get started.

Otherwise, music for violin and flute are pretty well in the same range as the guitar (well, an octave higher :-). And you could just read through some Fake Books.

Yes, the guitar is a transposing instrument. It sounds one octave lower then written. The advantage of this is that otherwise we would have to deal with so many ledger lines and reading on the guitar would even become more difficult. BTW: This applies to bass guitar too.

If you have played the trumpet you will be familiar with transposing instruments. The trumpet sounds one whole step lower than written. So to get a trumpet to play a C you have to write a D. (weired I know :-)

Anyway here's a little notation that shows the played note versus the actual sounding note on the guitar

EricV
08-30-2002, 01:40 PM
Hi there,

thereīs a really cool book from MI Press, written by GIT-instructor David Oakes. Itīs called "Music Reading For Guitar", and starts from the very basics. Great book, very helpful.
You can order it online on several sites, and I also saw it being sold at Barnes & Nobles, and Borders...