PDA

View Full Version : Words to Live By

BassDeffy
03-01-2004, 05:44 PM
When I started learning how to play an instrument, my dad gave me his old guitar lessons book. It was an old beat up book from the early 80's, dirty black cover, and full of strange squiggles, lines, dots, and thingamawhatsits that were musical notation. The book itself never helped me much, infact a few years of frustration later I switched over to bass. However what was written on the inside cover by my dad's guitar teacher has stayed with me. These simple words are things I remember when I practice and have helped me alot.

"Remember Technique" and "Don't Look at Your Left Hand"

Anyone else have any inspiring words they recieved?

madhatter@skool
03-01-2004, 07:16 PM
"You have what it takes. All that is left is to do what it takes with what you have."
---my guitar teacher on a card for my birthday

EricV
03-01-2004, 07:28 PM
"No one can play everything. Figure out what you want to play and focus on that" Abi von Reininghaus

"If you find out you have a problem with playing something, find that problem, isolate it, work on it and get rid of it" Steve Morse

Eric

Cuno
03-01-2004, 08:03 PM
"Don´t ever forget: when you´re playing music, someone is listening"
-- Mick Goodrick

Carvinite
03-01-2004, 09:59 PM
"Never give up, you have it"-My father

those single 6 words are what have kept me trying......and i also dont think they would have been as improtant had they not been from my father....

snufeldin
03-01-2004, 10:05 PM
"you should really become one of those people who writes and plays music... you're good"

from an 11 year old girl who heard me practicing while she visited my little sister... she died a month later in a plane crash.

madhatter@skool
03-04-2004, 05:18 PM
"Less is more" is BS. It is scientifically impossible for less to be more. Less may be APPROPRIATE at certain times, but LESS IS NEVER MORE!

---My teacher

phantom
03-09-2004, 10:17 AM