PDA

View Full Version : Picking bass up. (practice in 2 days EEK!)

LuisSavesTheDay
11-18-2004, 11:13 PM
I was a rythm/lead guitarist before i picked up bass, but our bassist wasnt so good for the style of music we were looking for (now im taking his spot). I have a practice this week, and i need some tips on how to get in the "groove". I dont just wanna play root notes like a lot of other bassist out there. I want to have a little bit of everything in the song, spicing it up to make the bass a little more intresting. I also need tips on building up speed. I can play like a beast on guitar, but since im learning with my fingers, the only thing i have from guitaris my left hand. I need to build up speed, and quick. I know its a dumb thing to say. But i do need to build up speed consistently, and ASAP. Any tips are appreciated.

(i already know that accuarcy is much more important then speed, please dont tell me. I just plan on working on speed a little more then other people do.)

We are a Skid Row style band if that helps.

Thanks a lot.

PonyNPepper
11-19-2004, 12:01 AM
As far as tips to "get in the groove", just watch a few Red Hot Chili Pepper videos and watch/listen to Flea. He does just about everything well. Another thing to do is avoid Kip Winger :). (Sorry, I just saw the "40 worst metal moments" on VH1 and that just kinda stuck.

Malcolm
11-19-2004, 02:22 PM
I do not play bass, however I stayed at a Holiday Express last night.

We lost our bass and I messed around with it till we found a good one.

For the runs, etc. to spice up root playing, short arpeggio like:
R-5
R-2-3-5
R-3-5-7
R-4-5
seemed to come easy and was a little more like acoustic strumming than just playing the root.

Sir Speedy
11-23-2004, 05:03 AM
:cool: yeah little 4 note arppegios , like Malcom said .