PDA

View Full Version : Developing tension

snufeldin
12-28-2002, 01:23 AM
In my quest to be able to improvise well formed solos I realized that it's all about tension and release. I'm wondering what all of the ways to create tension in a solo are. I've come up with a very short list:
1. Speed
2. Playing higher
3. Distortion
4. Using wide intervals
5. Repetition
6. Dissonance

The one I'm most interested in right now is using wide intervals... I'm not very good at it at all, but when I do it'll sound cool. Anyway, I'd like additions to the list or you can expand on ones I've already had. Also it'd be nice for you to give your opinions on what makes a good solo, developing, etc..

snufeldin

szulc
12-28-2002, 02:25 AM
4. Using wide intervals

Try playing scales where you displace every other note up or down 1 octave. Learn scales in fourths and fifths.

6. Dissonance

Play anything at all. Especially play out of key for a few beats then play in key at the last beat or so.

I would classify these as creating interest, not tension.

1. Speed (More specifically rhythm/polyrhythm or meter!)
2. Playing higher (Higher Pitches? can create tension but more likely interest when appropriately mixed with low notes)
3. Distortion ( Not really sure what you mean by this?)
5. Repetition (Repetition is a necessary component of music because that establishes patterns that draws the listener in. You can drive people mad with too much repetition (Ever see 'Eyes Wide Shut'?, or I should say did you ever hear the music?). Just the right balance of repetition and new themes/ variation is the key to keeping things interesting. (Listen to Paganinni's 'moto-perpetuo', to me this doesn't have enough repetition. Then listen to Paganinni's 'Caprice #5' there is a good balance between repetition and variation here.)

Bizarro
12-28-2002, 07:11 AM
Another method of creating tension... (I'm having trouble finding the correct words, so please excuse my poor verbage!)