PDA

View Full Version : Right and left hand

Ziga
01-01-2003, 04:53 PM
Hi! I am new to this forum. I have been playing guitar now for more than half a year now and I have some questions for you guys!

I am a self taught and because of that i have always tried to find the right or the best way to play through reading articles and stuff on the internet. While reading this forum i found out that many of you guys play with "floating" right hand. Either I dont know how to do it properly or it is just not working for me! I normally lay my hand on the upper 3 strings, because it gives me stability and the strenght to pick notes fast and accurate. But when i try not to tuch my guitar at all (with my hand), then i am just not capable of hitting the right strings... i lose the sense of knowing where the strings are and because of that i dont pick them so cleanly and fast... I just dont know how you guys can do it??

The other thing i was interested was the left hand. Do you have your thumb at the middle of the neck? I always try to do so, but at frets 12 and higher it is impossible for me to keep putting my hand in that position...

I am also interested how high do you have your guitar.

Please do answer and excuse my english...

Thank you.

Bongo Boy
01-01-2003, 05:15 PM
I've been playing for about 7 months--very close to your experience, and am also not taking lessons from an instructor. I most often rest the heel of my right hand on the bridge, but lately have found that I can't get as nice a sound from the instrument as I can if I pick the strings further away from the bridge. So, I'm trying the floating hand, and yes, it's difficult.

I began with the guitar very high, with the 12th fret within 15cm of my chin when looking at it. I've lowered the guitar three times since then, as it is beginning to feel more comfortable a little lower.

Bizarro
01-01-2003, 05:31 PM
Welcome to the forum!