PDA

View Full Version : improvising with altered chords

schofie1
01-04-2003, 01:05 PM
Hi - I'm totally new to this site, it looks really excellent. Am a sax player, but figure this topic applies to most solo instruments.

I've been playing jazzy/bluesy/funk in a band for about 6 years, and have managed to develop a lot in that time, but still have a long way to go.

I initially started by playing basic scales, and transcriptions eg. charlie parker omnibook. After learning about jazz harmony & analysis i did some practical impro courses for a year.

These days I work on playing chord progressions eg. diatonic voicelead arpeggios in all keys, using different modes etc. I also use the keyboard to help me 'hear' II-V-I and related changes in all keys before playing same on my instrument. I've composed some tunes based on stuff I've discovered.

As i said, this has really helped my impro. But i feel kind of stuck when it comes to impro on altered dominant chords. I really want to be able to fully exploit the fascinating melodic lines I believe these harmonies underpin, but most of the time the chords scare the hell out of me! I usually just fuddle around a #9 or #5 and hope for the best... but I really want to be able to pre-hear complete phrases that incorporate these tones.

I've tried experimenting with the altered scale in various forms (e.g playing dim. whole tone scales in triads, using passing notes), but it somehow sounds academic and i can't seem to use the material in a performing situation.

Can anyone give tips on this, or reference some past postings?

I would like to hear from people who have crossed this bridge, and what they found helpful.

szulc
01-04-2003, 02:27 PM
There are methods that use the melodic minor scale from four different possible roots to execute phrases over altered Dominant chords.