PDA

View Full Version : Phrygian Bass solo

satch_master
10-03-2005, 05:31 AM
The bass chords are very simple.

E7 G7 F#7

I used the phrygian mode( flat 2,3,6,7) because it fit very nicely over the 7th chords. 4 mins is alot of soloing, so i kinda ranout of licks at the end and just ran the scales up and down. It's quite fast but there isn't much musical value, it is just me having an indulgent play over the chords. :D .
I have been playing bass for around 4 years now and learning guitar has vastly improved my capabilities on the instrument. I recorded with my Fender Jazz bass USA. :D I have better technique on bass than guitar, can't sweep pick for **** and my AP is somewhat sloppy, my legato is good but that is because i have a strong left hand from lots of bass playing.

UKRuss
10-03-2005, 11:13 AM
Satchdude, Where's the attachment??:confused:

I'm intrigued to see how you made the Phrygian work over dom7 chords, isn't there a bit of a clash with the 3rd?

Los Boleros
10-03-2005, 03:24 PM
Satchdude, Where's the attachment??:confused:

I'm intrigued to see how you made the Phrygian work over dom7 chords, isn't there a bit of a clash with the 3rd?Actually, this is a pretty exiting group of chords to play with.

Over the E7, You definately have Harmonic and melodic minor,(phrigian dominant mode).

Over the G7, A aeolian is what I would stick with.

The F7 is very interesting choice. You can use fragments of the B dim scale,(half-whole) or have fun with A Dim arpegios. Also too, I would consider an altered form of the A minor scale that includes the Eb note. (That would be the fun note)

UKRuss
10-03-2005, 04:21 PM
Cool choices Rudy!

but no strict Phrygian as such... hmmmm:confused:

Apple-Joe
11-14-2005, 11:49 PM
The solo itself is interesting. I like the Phrygian mode, I enjoy listening to other people's approaches, as I am not very creative when using the Phrygian mode myself. I end up doing the same rhythmic root-minor 2nd-root-minor7-root melody.