PDA

View Full Version : Jazz band...

IronShadows28
12-02-2005, 10:18 PM
Hey everybody. I have sort of a predicament, but first Id like to introduce myself as a guitarist. I am 16 years old, and I have been playing guitar for about 4 years. Im a long time reader of the articles on IBM but I've rarely browsed the forums. In the four years I have been playing, I have gone in and out of my little "phases". I have been through, classic rock, shred (never really got too far on this one), metal (power metal, melodic death, death, metalcore etc), blues, and probably a few others Ive forgotton. My latest obsession has been sort of depressing acoustic alternative/folk in the style of Nick Drake, Iron and Wine, Elliott Smith, Sufjan Stevens etc and I have been trying to write in this style. My guitar teacher, whom Ive been playing with for about 2 and a half years of my playing, is mainly a blues guitarist but he can play almost any style (aside from shred and other very technical genres) and he is helping me with my acoustic writing right now.