Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: Paul Gilbert Practice Lick at Fast Tempo

Paul Gilbert Practice Lick at Fast Tempo

Hi,
    I'm new to the site and it looks like a very cool place. I have been playing for quite a few years, but mostly from the slower blues school. I consider myself average in the speed department and not a shredder.

My question relates to the basic Paul Gilbert lick below.

||--------------12----------||----|
    ||o-12-13-15---15-13-o||----|
    ||---------------------------||----|
    ||o-------------------------o||----|
    .......d...u...d...u...d...u..

At a faster tempo after picking the E note on the 12th fret on the first string with an upstroke I end up hitting the open B string before picking the downstroke for the D note at the 15th fret on the 2nd string.

I guess my question is what picking motion do use on this particular upstroke to avoid hitting the B string?

It seems like at a slower tempo I have time to jump over the B string, but when I get this lick cooking at a faster tempo I end up accidentally raking through the B string on that same upstroke and sounding the open B string.

Anyone else have this problem and any tips on how to correct it?

Thanks for the advice!

One of the great things about this Paul Gilbert lick &/or motif is that it is a great lick that
    requires synchronization of the right(picking)hand and the left(fretting) hand.

Not to mention as a motif &/or exercise It is rhythmic, & presents various challenges.

Most significant general observation about this lick: