Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: Time Signatures!

Question Time Signatures!

Hi everyone!

Im completely new to this but i was wondering whether there was anyone that could help me out.

My sister is taking a ballet exam in the next few weeks and she had a mock exam today... she was asked to break down a 9/8 time signature. Now the teacher said it could be broken down into 3 sections .... is this just because it is divisable by 3?

is this how it works as a general rule?

thank you for your help in advance

Meters such as 3/8, 6/8, 9/8, 12/8, etc can be broken down into groups of 3 eighth notes. 9/8 would be broken down into 3 beats of 3 eighth notes.

Thank you for your reply .. thats what i thought! Are there any other time signatures which can be broken down at all that you could think of? I really appreciate your help as her exam is soon and i dont want her to fail!

Thank you again for previous help ....

Well, all time signatures can be broken down. Ones such as 3/4, 4/4, 2/4, 5/4, etc, are broken down into the number of beats that are in the numerator (3 beats for 3/4, 4 beats for 4/4, etc). In these meters, each beat will have 2 eighth notes. For 4/4 time, that would be 4 beats of 2 eighth notes.

Meters ending in /8 can be broken up into beats of 3, or combinations of 2 and 3 (which is somewhat more obscure and probably not going to be on a simple meter test). So, for the sake of the test, x/8 meters will be divided into beats of 3. For exampel, 9/8 is three beats of three eighth notes.

I hope I'm not hijacking the thread here but is this division something to do with compound or simple time or are they something completely different?