Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: Book recommendations?

Book recommendations?

Hey everyone, I know that there are quite a few threads about what to practice and all, but I was wondering if there were any good book recommendations out there. I've been playing for about 1 3/4 years, but I haven't learned theory. The last couple months I've been searching around the internet and learning about intervals, scale and chord construction, etc. but I wanted to get a couple books that would help develop this more precisely. I've looked at The Modern Method for Guitar 1,2,3 but 1)I would like to avoid reading music if possible and 2) the songs (at least in the beginning pages)looked technically simple - I would like something a little more challenging I'm also looking for a good technique book that would help improve chops with string-skipping, wide intervals, etc. Thanks a lot!!

Re: Book recommendations?

The best book I've found for starting in theory is "Harmony and Theory" by Keith Wyatt and Carl Shroeder, published by Hal Leonard.

1/2 the book is about standard notation and 1/2 the book is about 'harmony' (the relationships of chords to scales, chord substitutions, etc.). In my opinion the book is clear, concise, and does a nice job of heading off some common misunderstandings before they arise.

There are other bigger more comprehensive books (Mark Levine's Jazz Theory is huge and good) but Harmony and Theory is IMO a really great overview.

1)I would like to avoid reading music if possible
    Ummmm, why not avoid all kinds of unnecessary effort and just not play an instrument ?