Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: ive been playing guitar for 2 years and...

ive been playing guitar for 2 years and...

i dont know how to read music. should i start now ? or what ? i was lazy and didnt want to learn and many musicians i know told me its really good if you know.

It's good. learn now. Start here. Check articles. g'lcuk. Welcome to IBM.

Being able to read sheet music is a very valuable skill. Especially if you ever plan on playing with other instruments like saxophone, violin, etc etc. It's also good to know if your going to be playing with a drummer. The skill of reading sheet music also indirectly familiarizes you with basic time signatures and rhythm.
    v2sw3CUhw6ln3pr6OFck3ma9u6Lw3Xm6l6Ui2Ne5t5TSFDAb8T DOen7g6RZATHCMHPa21s6MSr53Dp3hackerkey

This is a question that will draw responses from all directions. A lot depends on your goals as a guitar player. For piano, violin, wind instruments and such, yes ... learn to read music.

For guitar only, I don't think you need to be able and read music in most situations. If you are going to play guitar as a professional classical or studio musician, then definitely yes. With that said, you can learn to read music and not have to equate a note on the staff with a note on the fretboard as you play. This will allow you to read sheet music and interpret how you are going to play it on the guitar.

One possible route you could go to quickly learn to read music is get some introduction to piano books; there are thousands of them and they are cheap. Maybe you can even borrow an inexpensive keyboard from someone or buy an el cheapo at Wal Mart or Target.