Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: Yet another newbie to IBM

Yet another newbie to IBM

Hi guys,

Sorry to have started posting before I read the rules and before introducing myself. Y'all have put together a great site with lot's of valuable music info and discussion.

I majored in pro-music (voice) for a couple of years at Berklee decades ago. Got married, quit music to support the family and am now getting back into things. I'm concentrating on guitar but really learning it for the first time as a guy that understands a bit about music but precious little about the guitar.

My current focus is fret-board visualization via arpeggi (triads > 7th chords, arpeggi > modes & progressions) etc. I tend to hear vocal-based melodies and harmonized lines (2-3 part soli) in my head and so am working on my technical chops to be able to play what I hear in my head regardless of where my hands are.

I love jazz but am working on more triadic harmony in order to dial-in my fret-board visualization. All of those recapitulations make for a challenging task but I guess it's the price guitarists pay for playing such an expressive instrument. Ultimately the goal is to be comping / re-harmonizing with the speed and sense of a pianist. I'm not a shredder but more of a "less is more" kind of guy so my soloing is more melodic than lick / pattern-based.