Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: where the crap are my tab sites

where the crap are my tab sites

i always went thru guitartabs.cc for my tabs but now its out of commision. what good tab sites are still up and running. and further more i don't get how they can legally stop the sharing of personal interperetations of music. i could see if the tab was line for line, word for word exact reperductions of copywrited material. look at it this way, lets say that i describe trees for a living. i someone else accuately decribes the same tree that i had previously described, i have no room to get pissed.

is anyone else pissed about this.

From MPA.org--- (capitalization and asterisks added by me)

Many of those who wrote to us seem to be under the impression that the guitar tabs (or lead sheets or other similar works) posted by individual players are the personal interpretations of the songs by the person who made them and therefore are not subject to copyright. Nothing can be further from the truth. The U.S. Copyright Law specifically provides that the right to make and distribute an ****ADAPTATION, ABRIDGEMENT, OR TRANSCRIPTION**** of a copyrighted work such as a song belongs to the copyright owner of that work. Virtually all of the songs on the tab and other music web sites are protected by copyright. Thus, any player, whether an amateur or a top professional, needs the permission of the copyright owner of a song to make an arrangement or a tab version of that song and to post it on the Internet. Otherwise, the arranger and the web site are infringing that copyright.