Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: Improvising Lead Solo's ...

Improvising Lead Solo's ...

Hi,

Basically, i *SUCK* at improvising solos. big style. Everything about them just seems to go wrong.

Problem is, im a good guitarist, grade 8 material isn't exactly hard for me to play, which is were my problem comes in!

the piece i've just learnt over the last 3/4 days ("667" by hussein boon for rockschool grade 8) has an improv solo part, and i need help with comming up with some ideas >.<

its 4 bars repeated twice using these chords.... (4/4 time at 145 bmp)

Em .....| D...... | C.... D | Em..... |
    / / / / | / / / / | / / / / | / / / / |

(the dots are just to keep it all lined up)

Question is, what scales could i use, what arppegios? should i use modes?

i know going for grade 8 i should be able to work this out myself, but i just cant >.<

i'd of said Em pentatonic would go over all of it? or E minor? but which modes could be used?

Also i think i could use E minor, D major and C major arp's, but would this be only when that chords playing?

cheers for any help! i just dont want another senseless scale shreding solo, i want to write something with a decent hook, melody and maybe abit of shred at the end, and this is the first step to it!

Thanks,

Jamie.
    Last edited by jammiey2k3; 01-06-2008 at 10:12 PM.

yea your on the mark with your comment about arpeggios. Have you tried simply singing over the chords? usually ideas will pop up when you sing that you previously hadn't considered.

As for scales.