Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: Songwriting Help

Spicy Meatball Guitarist

Unhappy Songwriting Help

I really hate admitting this, but to be honest, I've been playing guitar for 8 years, and have ONLY ONE song to my name, and even that ONE song, is a comlete ditsy, something I'll never show anyone, and I wouldn't want to continue to write in that style. Trust me, this HURTS admitting this, mainly because, even I figure that after 8 years, I would have SOMETHING to show for my efforts. I mean, don't get me wrong, people tell me I'm a "great guitarist." But honestly, I don't feel it. I have all these great ideas in my head as far as music, but most of the time, I can only get out short little segments, and then I just can't continue. I have probably 3 or four books FILLED with JUST ideas. Little musical things that are either too "licky" to use as a song basis, or only a few bars long. I just can't write the full thing, and unfortunately, that equals out to me not writing songs. Does ANYONE (anyone AT ALL that is) have something of this same sorts? Or am I seriously just a guy who can't write?

I think you may be putting too much pressure on yourself and being a little to picky. A song does not have to be a completely original masterpiece in order for you to be satisfied. Writing something can serve many different purposes.