Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: What should I practice

Hybrid View

Angry What should I practice

Hi Guys,

I have been a member a while but have not posted much. This sight has provided me with an enormous amount of useful information and I must thank everyone for that.

I have been playing guitar for about eight years and seem to have hit a huge wall. My practice is unstructured and I would really appreciate a good practice regime that I could stick to. If anyone has some advice, please help. I am tending towards the delta blues style.

Harry

Hi there,
    I also languished for quite a while with unstructured practice. What helped me was to write down my goals, and then to figure out what things I needed to practice in order to reach those goals. I wrote down long term and short term goals. That helped me a bunch to get myself motivated. Also important I think is to have a way to gauge your progress, and to document that progress. That is, it has helped me tremendously to have a practice notebook, and to record in there the things I am doing. You may want to gauge your progress by taping yourself every so often, or just by recording in your notebook the things you have learned (e.g., new scales, or certain picking exercises at a given tempo, etc).

So I don't have a specific practice regimen to suggest, cuz I think everyone's should be tailored to their own goals.

For me, I hit walls when it feels like I am not making progress, so the documentation of progress is a biggie for me.

I do think it is a good idea to totally ignore structure practice occasionally and just have fun with the guitar.