Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: Very basic question about diatonic scales.

Hybrid View

Very basic question about diatonic scales.

Hello, everyone. I'm brand new to guitar. I just got my first on Christmas and my brother has helped me out with learning. I haven't talked with him in a few days as we're both pretty busy and am too anxious to get some answers before we can practice together again. I'm not new to music, I've played drums for just over 9 years now but never really had the opportunity to focus on music scales.

So, anyway... my question is regarding diatonic scales and their names. I understand the fact that the B and the E don't have any sharps which is why there are natural diatonic scales that hit only the natural notes. I don't mean to imply that the nature of the scales derive from the fact that B and E don't have sharps or visa versa... I'm not trying to create a chicken or egg argument, I'm just speaking on how it would appear to my currently uneducated mind.

So, with these facts, and the facts that we have these diatonic scales with whole steps and half steps to ensure we always hit the natural notes... It makes me wondering why there are only two (at least only two very popular) scales named major and minor. And why are these scales natural on C and A, respectively? Is there a scale whose natural scale is a B? One that would go "Half, Whole, Whole, Half, Whole, Whole, Whole?" What about scales that are natural in D, E, F, or G? Do they exist? Do they have names?