Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: Shakey hands when playing live

Shakey hands when playing live

Hey there everyone. I've been playing guitar for about 6 years, but only started taking it "seriously" about a year and a half ago. For a vast majority of this time, I've been playing infront of audiences, not that big, but, audiences. People I know, people I dont know, the usual. But, within the last year, I've been playing live alot more and playing much more technically challenging pieces live. Even though I'm not that nervous, I can't seem to stop my hands from shaking! And when you're playing fast alternate picking lines and only moving the pick practically millimeters, you can image how much you'd screw up if your right hand is shaking uncontrollably! The same goes for my left hand. I've already seriously screwed up two very important college music auditions basically due to this problem, and I need to fix it. I know that most people will tell me that this is a "head" issue, which I believe it partially is, but I just can't control my hands! Definitely a problem for a guitar player....

Any advice would be helpful.

Thanks.

First of all, a silly question: can I assume that your hands only shake when you're playing in public? If that's indeed the case, and having experienced very similar problems in various types of performance (not just guitar playing, but also singing and public speaking), I believe there are two ways you can approach it:
    1- perfect your knowledge of the piece so that you can play it without thinking about it anymore.
    2- address the matter psychologically.