Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: "Finding people to play with" or "Wannabe musicians suck"

Angry "Finding people to play with" or "Wannabe musicians suck"

*sigh* where to begin...

Okay, I've been playing guitar for close to 3 years now and I'm not the best but I'm not the worst either (I don't think).

However, my problem is finding people to play with. I have co-workers that all play guitar but getting them to actually play is like pulling teeth. They bring their guitars in to work and just let them sit and I wind up playing my myself during my lunchbreak. But everytime I pick up my guitar to try a riff that I heard in a song, everyone wants to grab my guitar and practice. I'm like "WTH your guitar is sitting right there! Play it!" Then there's the people that visit from our other facility that persist in rattling off the names and types of all the "Expensive" instruments that they have...but when you ask them about what they last played, all they can do is repeat the names of their gear. To me, this screams "I have a bunch of expensive art sitting in my basement or hanging on the walls".