Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: Notation Question

Notation Question

So I'm learning this piece by Francisco Tarrega from a book I have (trusted source). But I wasn't sure what to make of something I came across on the fret fingering numbers alongside the notes of the staff. It shows a note being fretted with a -2? Sure, 2 = left hand middle finger, but what's that - for?

I have a scanned picture of it, but I wasn't sure if that infringes copyright (just this particular arrangement, presumably Tarrega's music isn't copyrighted), so I removed it.

I'm only self-taught with reading music and classical music, so pardon my ignorance. I looked around and found this glossary of accents which includes a tenuto. Is that what it is in my example, or is it something else, or maybe even just a typo? As far as I can tell, out of a dozen other Tarrega songs transcribed in the book, this is the only example of it.

It's not terribly important...I've played through the piece regardless, but I was curious.
    Last edited by Rustee; 07-18-2009 at 01:06 AM. Reason: removed picture

Quote Originally Posted by Rustee
    I have a scanned picture of it, but I wasn't sure if that infringes copyright (just this particular arrangement, presumably Tarrega's music isn't copyrighted), so I removed it.
    If you cut most of it, and post just an small extract with the area that is relevant, I guess you will be ok with the copyright, and it will be helpfull in understanding your question.

Ok, and it's two measures, which is as close as I could get without totally losing resolution.