Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: smoke on the water in dorian mode??

Hybrid View

Smile smoke on the water in dorian mode??

hello,
    i've read that "smoke on the water" (deep purple) is a song written in the dorian mode. however, when i listen to it, it sounds more like it's in a major mode. is it only that some of the riffs are in dorian? or is the whole song actually in dorian mode? i appreciate any input as i'm fairly new to modes.
    thanks!
    margot

Quote Originally Posted by margot View Post
    hello,
    i've read that "smoke on the water" (deep purple) is a song written in the dorian mode. however, when i listen to it, it sounds more like it's in a major mode. is it only that some of the riffs are in dorian? or is the whole song actually in dorian mode? i appreciate any input as i'm fairly new to modes.
    thanks!
    margot
    Well, it's tonic is G minor, so it can't be major . The initial chord progression is Gm - F - Gm, and that could be G dorian, but also G aeolian. The tonic is definitely Gm... imho. The next chord is C indicating dorian, but the Ab that follows is not dorian and not aeolian

I don' have the sheet music here so I cant check the melody, but from memory I would say dorian with an added Ab chord for dissonance.

Smoke on the Water is a mixture of minor modes.
    The main riff has phrygian and even locrian elements:
    Code:
    --------------------------------
    -----------------------------
    0---3---5-----0---3---6--5------
    0---3---5-----0---3---6--5------
    -------------------------------
    ----------------------------
    R   b3  4     R   b3  b5 4
    5   b7  R     5   b7  b2 R