Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: Interval question..need help

Exclamation Interval question..need help

Ok so I'm a music noob and trying to grasp the idea of intervals. I have a question and I'll try to explain the it the best I can. Here goes...

I'll use the C Maj scale for example, when you start counting the distance between notes, why do you have to count the distance of the second, third, fourth, fifth, etc. notes FROM the root note (C)??? For example distance from C to D is one interval, then C to E is the second interval, C to F is the third inteval and so on...

I thought that you would count the distance (interval) from note to note like, C to D is one interval, D to E is the second interval, E to F is the third interval, and so on.

So which way is correct? And if you DO always start counting from the root or key is that how you always have to do it??? Sorry if any of this is confusing or if I'm way off point, but thanks in advance for the help!

-Adam

You can give a name to the interval between any two notes...using a C major scale as in your example, the intervals from the root are:

C-C is a (perfect) unison
    C-D is a (major) second
    C-E is a (major) third
    C-F is a (perfect) fourth
    etc.

If you want to count from note to note:

C-D is a (major) second
    D-E is a (major) second
    E-F is a (minor) second
    F-G is a (major) second
    etc.

Think about intervals as representing the "distance" between the notes...the point is that C-D, say, is "an interval of a second", not that it's "the second interval"...hope this helps.
    Last edited by walternewton; 03-30-2011 at 08:15 PM.

Ok, I just read this tutorial..