Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: A Good Music Theory/Harmony Book?

A Good Music Theory/Harmony Book?

Hello, Hi, What's up, everybody?

I'm a new student to music theory. I've been learning what I can off of free articles on the internet and youtube videos, and while this has been a great start I feel I need some serious literature to give me a really solid foundation in music theory.

Can anybody recommend some good books on music theory/harmony for an aspiring music composer/music producer?

Thanks in advance.

Hi NeoLA

I had the same problem as you one year ago.
    In my experience I've found that any book is good enough for all the harmony/theory subjects. When I say "good enough" I mean you can understand it easily.
    I've found that some books explain better (to me, off course) some subjects while others don't. The result is that you might end up using several books for the study of different chapters in theory.

My recommendation is to start the study or theory by following the recommended chapter sequence and, for each chapter, try to find a book that explains it easily. When you get to the next chapter, use the first book and check if it explains the subject in a way that is ok with you. If not, look for another book.

To "try" different books, without having to buy them, you can search google books or any other sites that allow you to access a free view of their contents.

I really like "Jazz Theory" by Mark Levine. But I suppose it's a bit jazz oriented.
    You can't have a theme and variations if you don't have a theme.

Quote Originally Posted by NeoLA View Post