Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What am I REALLY playing?

What am I REALLY playing?

So I'm not really well educated in theory... I'm self-taught in all aspects. I've run into something that I don't understand.

I play metal. The most basic and most overused sound is the cookie-cutter metalcore progresssion of VI-VII-i in MINOR. I've pretty much mastered improvising in this sound. But then I memorized the MAJOR scale on the entire fretboard and noticed that it is pretty much the same as playing IV-V-vi, seeing as minor is the 6th mode, right? I can play the same riffs in the major scale within those chords and still go down to I and make it sound major. And I noticed it works vise-versa, I can play VI-VII-I in minor and then go down to III making that III chord what would have been the I chord in MAJOR.

...sorry if that was confusing. Anyway, after noticing that, I learned Lydian, and noticed I can play the same riffs as I-II-iii. And then go up to V to make the sweet sounding major sound.

Is it really that simple? Or am I just not playing the modes correctly? If not, what chord progression of what mode am I really playing???

Also, does this mean that if I was playing a progression in C major and then landed on the vi chord (Am) and played a melody there wouldn't that make that melody practically playing A Lydian? Seeing as I'm using that chord as the root note for the other notes? Does this mean that I'm actually using all modes by just playing through the major scale?

Can somebody please explain this to me? Thanks...

Quote Originally Posted by threadsoffate View Post