Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: Modern Method for Guitar, Singing, Learning Electric Method on Acoustic

Modern Method for Guitar, Singing, Learning Electric Method on Acoustic

I have several questions..

1) This is for anybody else that's worked out of A Modern Method for Guitar (Vol. 1, Leavitt). I've been working out of the book for several months (I started after only playing for a few months so I had to learn to read music, learn to alternate pick, left hand technique basically from scratch, so it took a long time to get where I can learn the pieces w/in a reasonable amount of time). Anyway, I'm wondering what the best way is to go about learning from this book. Right now, I am taking a few pieces at a time and working on them for a couple weeks, trying to get them perfect at a reasonable speed (120 bpm or so). What speed should I be trying to work stuff up to (specifically the early pieces, Etude's No. 1 and 2, First and Second Solo, the Duets in G and F and the Picking exercises)? Is there a better way for me to go about doing this or are there are tips for working through this method book?