Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: I can jam and play along only single notes how do I jam or improvise chords

Question I can jam and play along only single notes how do I jam or improvise chords

I can jam and play along only single notes how do I jam or improvise chords

I'm an intermediate musician I've been teaching myself for 13 years

I know intervals chords inversions scales modes keys etc

I know how to construct all the chords invert them omit notes

It just seems when I play along to songs on guitar I can only jam or improvise single notes

I learned a lot about ear training too so I am also intermediate in relative and perfect pitch

I really feel like I could move up to advanced if I could just be able to jam play along and improvise chords

I notice you play bass. In jamming a bass line you rely upon the Root and 5 note of the chord, in jamming a chord progression you can rely upon the root chord and the five chord of the key. In rhythm guitar as in bass guitar the rhythm (beat) is important the actual chord or note sounded is secondary, i.e. in both cases you can get by with a root-five groove. Read on.....