Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: [Piano/Keyboard] Some Questions about Timing and Metronomes

[Piano/Keyboard] Some Questions about Timing and Metronomes

I'm new to playing Piano/Keyboard as an instrument (normally I just used it as a tool with electronic music) and I have some questions about timing.

1) Is it better to tap your foot or use a metronome?

I find that if I tap my foot, even if it's in time with the notes I play I'm inclined to speed up and slow down randomly and lose coordination. Is there anything rhythmic you gain from tapping your foot that you can't get from a metronome?

2) Is sticking to a metronome always a good idea?

I like using a metronome but sometimes it feels as though the speed that is correct for my pace is too slow for the song that I'm learning and makes it indecipherable to play. Should I speed up for the sake of the song and compromise the precision of the timing? Or is it better to just stick thoroughly with the metronome and keep practicing and practicing the same song until I can build the speed up and get the song perfect? I want to be thorough but I don't want to waste lots of time on one very basic song if it's not going to even pay off.

3) Are these exercises I made up good or will they build bad habits?