Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: Message for Gunharth Randolf

Message for Gunharth Randolf

First of all I have to say I absolutely LOVE your lessons!
    I have been playing guitar for more than 25 years. I learned it all by myself. And since the books I could get with guitarmusic all used standard music notation, I learned myself to read music at the same time.
    After a few years without guitar (due to artritis) I decided to pick it up again (the heck with artritis!). I wanted to focus on improvising and found out I really had to learn the fretboard all over again. I can read music, but not instantly: I still have to figure out where the notes are higher up the fretboard. I noticed I really needed to know this in able to imrpovise better. After that I also noticed, to my amazement, that a solid knowledge of music theory is neede to improvise well! That was new to me! But when I think about it, it's logical: when you play from music, you don't need to think (sort of) because everything is right there before your eyes. But with improvising you very often won't get more than a couple of chords... You have to make it all up on the fly, so you really need to know your theory!

But this topic is getting too long, so let's get to the point..

Somewhere on the usenet the iBreatheMusic site was mentioned. So I came over here and I was pretty amazed by it all! Great awesome site! Quit soon I noticed your lessons about Chord Scales. I read them all. After that I noticed I should have read the lessons about intervals, triads and 7th first, so I did. I just read them, because I didn't like to do the exercises...