Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: Need to learn rhythm guitar

Need to learn rhythm guitar

I've started playing in my church band and although I've been playing guitar for about 15 years, I've discovered that I need to work on my rhythm playing a lot more. Basically the music itself is pretty easy, major chord progressions mainly. But I think I need to work on two and three note chords to fill in during verses. Can anyone recommend any good rhythm links or offer any tips on playing rhythm?

I read something the other day that struck me as true. A typical guitarist in a band plays solos only about 10% of the time. The rest of the time they're playing rhythm. This made me rethink how much time I spend practicing solos vs. rhythm!

Cheers...

Hi hawk,

First of all have you checked out these articles? - there might be something in it for you.

http://www.ibreathemusic.com/article/2
    http://www.ibreathemusic.com/article/19

Otherwise, you might wanna have a look at all the triads, their inversions and adapt these to the guitar.

Guni

Those are great articles with good examples, thanks.

hey, great to see another church band player on the forum. i too play at the church i attend on sunday nights, and yeah, if the songs you play are anything like the songs we play then they will be very basic major progressions.

the thing i find about playing these types of songs, especially with the slow ones, is that if they do give you the thumbs up to solo it really has to be played with feeling. solos without feeling with songs of this type generally sound really inappropriate (like most solos without feeling i guess) .