Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Left handed playing right handed guitar

Question Left handed playing right handed guitar

Hi there.

Here is a question I originally posted on another website-forum.
    I'd also like to get some answers and opinions from you guys because this topic has been bothering me quite a deal .... so here we go :

I'm having a big problem, which is :
    I'm left handed but I've been playing right handed for many years. Like 10 years ago I was big time into shred and I practiced very hard on my picking, but somehow I couldn't get my right hand up to some reasonable speed. Then when I got a bit older I got into Jazz and kinda forgot about the metal-virtuoso thing.
    Just lately I listened to some of my old CDs and watched some of my old Guitar-instructional video tapes of some great shredders, and that sort of brought my desire to become a fast picker back to live.
    So I started out practicing on single strings (exercises focusing on the raw speed of right hand alternate picking). But I couldn't get any faster than max. 120-140 bpm(playing 16ths on an open string), but when I turned the guitar around, picking with my left hand I could easily get it up to about 200 bpm (again playing 16ths on an open string) (never ever having practiced picking with my left hand before, whereas I spent many, many hours over quite some years on practicing my right hand picking).
    Also when I try to speed-pick with my right hand, I have to move my whole elbow, whereas with my lef hand I can do it just moving the wrist, making small, precise movements.