Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: Multiple techniques... do I learn them all?

Multiple techniques... do I learn them all?

Hello all! I have a simple question to a fairly complex issue. I recently started playing the guitar again after many years of putting it down to pursue my career (a real job ). After I settled into my career and things became predictable and boring, the itch to play music again came on with a vengence. That was a year ago, and I've ben playing everyday since then.

Up until a few months ago I never really used a metronome regularly. I regret not using one in my past practices regularly, as I have gotten my alt. picking so fast lately with this wonderful device!

This brings me to my question. I am going through the Rock Discipline video and book by Petrucci, and I am loving it. Difficult, but rewarding. I want to learn all the techniques in the book (sweeping, tapping, legato, etc.) But I am not sure if I should just pick one section and stay with it until I master it (i.e. alt. picking with the metronome), or if I should pick several exercises from each section and practice them all in a single session.

I am currently practicing several different techniques in a single practice session.

1. I warm up with various chromatic scale exercises to the metronome gradually getting up to top speed. (30 mins to an hour)

2. Once I am warmed up I practice a few more alt. picking exercises. (30 mins)

3. Then I practice a few of the legato exercises (30 mins to an hour)

4. Then I "attempt" some sweeping. Easily my worst technique. (30 mins to an hour).