Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: Book on Learning Scales?

Book on Learning Scales?

I was wondering if you guys can help me out with finding a good book on scales. I was at Guitar Center this past weekend hoping to find a book on scales and didn't find anything that was thorough enough (imo) to get a good understanding of scales. I'm looking for a book that will cover all/most the different scales and the different keys of those scales in detail (major,minor,penatonic,modes,etc). I've been playing for about 2 years and I've gotten pretty good at playing strumming type songs; however, I feel that not knowing scales and the theory behind scales is paralyzing my progress. Now it's time to stop screwing around and get serious about my playing.

Any suggestion on a good book will be greatly appreciated!!!

Hi,

This is supposed to be a good book for scales and modes, not tried it myself but I have heard it mentiones a few times. It's called the Guitar Grimoire link to Amazon Page below.
    http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg...books&n=507846

Regards,
    MartinA.

Hello-

I'm gonna have to second that on the Guitar Grimoire, except I would reccomend purchasing it at Guitar Center or online at Musician's Friend, because they sell the book and dvd together for about what most places charge for the book alone.

Good luck!
    -Dan Mulvey

Thanks for the suggestions guys, I'm going to order that book and check it out.

I have that book somewhere. I would like to point out that even though it is a very thorough collection of scales and patterns, it does not contain much explanation regarding how to apply scales, harmonical or melodical context, etc.