Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advice on Tendonitis

Advice on Tendonitis

Hiya Guys,

About a year ago now, I started to experience stiffness and discomfort when playing guitar. At the time another member of my family was seeing a chiropractor for treatment on their back, so I went along, got myself checked, and I apparently have tendonitis in my 'rotator cuff' (spelling here is purely as a guide). So I've been paying for chiropractic treatment for a few months, and it seems to have made no discernable difference. Should I stick with it? Is there anything else I can try?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

C

Which shoulder do you have the pain or discomfort in? Is it possible that you injured your shoulder in an accident or other activity, and aggravated it with guitar playing? Usually tendonitis from playing guitar ends up being in the hands or wrists, although anything is possible. If the chiropractor is not helping, tell him that you are not feeling better so he has some feedback. He may try another type of treatment until you experience some improvement. Don't be afraid to ask if there are any exercises or stretches you can do on your own to help your recovery. Also pay particular attention when you play guitar that you are not tensing your shoulders, relaxation is important for injury prevention. You may need to adjust your posture to get your guitar in a better biomechanical position. Let us know how thing turn out.

Len....

Thanks for the advice...so you know, it's the shoulder of my picking arm that's the trouble (that's my left arm....cuz I'm cackhanded lol)