Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Assistance on time-signature (esp. 3/4)

Assistance on time-signature (esp. 3/4)

I have just started to broaden my horizon regarding time-signatures. Until lately, I have - conciously or not - focused on 4/4 rhythms. Tonight, however, I decided that I wanted to experiment with another time signature - any time-signature, really, that wasn't 4/4.

I landed on 3/4, and tried to create a short demo piece based on the mentioned rhythm. I am not sure whether I succeeded, as I'm new to time-signatures. That said, I presume I got it right. 3/4 to me means each bar contains three 4th notes (quarter notes), and you count "1 2 3" as opposed to "1 2 3 4" in 4/4. If you count "1 2 3 4" in 3/4 you'll face trouble. The "4" will practically be the "1" of the next bar, that's my perspective.

Here's a link a the demo piece I created. It's short, but you should be able to decide the rhythm. The application used for composing is called "ModPlug Tracker" and the samples are created by someone with the artistic name "Necro".

To ensure that you get the file, right-click the link and choose "Save target as...":

http://apple-joe.tripod.com/rhythm-demo.mp3

I'm having tha same ol' problems with file type on your link, but the way you describe 3/4 is correct.

Quote Originally Posted by UKRuss
    I'm having tha same ol' problems with file type on your link, but the way you describe 3/4 is correct.
    Oh, I forgot about the File Attachment Manager again, give me 2 seconds.

File is loading...

I don't understand why the file will not work when providing a regular link. There must be some irregularities going on.